Podman is a tool for managing OCI containers and pods. From 4.4.0 until 5.8.8 and 6.1.3, podman run treats an image carrying the io.podman.annotations.checkpoint.runtime.name annotation as a checkpoint and silently ignores user-supplied con…
Exact source revision recorded 28 Oct 2026 10:37:41 UTC. It does not establish the source's current position. Latest evidence.
euvd · EUVD-2026-98929
PublishedPodman is a tool for managing OCI containers and pods. From 4.4.0 until 5.8.8 and 6.1.3, podman run treats an image carrying the io.podman.annotations.checkpoint.runtime.name annotation as a checkpoint and silently ignores user-supplied container creation restrictions such as --cap-drop=ALL, allowing image-controlled checkpoint state to select weaker sandbox settings and capabilities. Rootless containers are not affected because checkpoint and restore are unavailable in that mode. This issue is fixed in versions 5.8.8 and 6.1.3.
EUVD source date text has no stated timezone and is retained without inventing a UTC instant. Related bulletin membership is not an alias, common cause or applicability claim. A missing vector with a zero score is treated as unrated. Complete vendor/product and underlying source evidence remains in the original JSON.
Original publisher date fields
datePublished: Oct 13, 2026, 4:51:38 PM
dateUpdated: Oct 13, 2026, 8:21:43 PM
5 related source bulletins · separate from aliases
RHSA-2026:74861: Red Hat Security Advisory: Red Hat Hardened Images RPMs Security Update
CVE-2026-56851 · CVE-2026-79705 · CVE-2026-94603
RHSA-2026:88202: Red Hat Security Advisory: podman security update
CVE-2026-94603
RHSA-2026:74178: Red Hat Security Advisory: Red Hat Hardened Images RPMs Security Update
CVE-2026-94603
msrc_CVE-2026-94603: Podman: The `podman run` command can be instructed to disable almost all sandboxing by image annotation
CVE-2026-94603
RHSA-2026:79546: Red Hat Security Advisory: Red Hat Quay 3.12.23
CVE-2026-17106 · CVE-2026-49825 · CVE-2026-54770 · CVE-2026-59879 · CVE-2026-77403 · CVE-2026-77404 · CVE-2026-77406 · CVE-2026-77409 · CVE-2026-77410 · CVE-2026-77412 · CVE-2026-79921 · CVE-2026-82417 · CVE-2026-87776 · CVE-2026-94603
- Source published
- Oct 13, 2026, 4:51:38 PM (timezone not stated)
- Source modified
- Oct 13, 2026, 8:21:43 PM (timezone not stated)
- Observed here
- 28 Oct 2026 10:37:41 UTC
- Source terms
- ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: euvd · ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
EUVD CVSS 3.1 · 10.0 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H