Ghost: Paid gift memberships obtainable at minimal cost via the donations feature
Collected exploitation and prediction evidence
Risk source coverageCISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.
No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.
cve-program · CVE-2026-59817
PublishedGhost is a Node.js content management system. From 6.27.0 before 6.44.0, Ghost's public donation checkout flow allowed an unauthenticated attacker to control donation checkout metadata and obtain full paid gift memberships for a minimal payment without exposing customer or member data or stealing money from a site or its members. This issue is fixed in version 6.44.0.
- Source published
- 9 Jul 2026 17:40:15 UTC
- Source modified
- 14 Jul 2026 01:04:55 UTC
- Observed here
- 23 Oct 2026 15:48:27 UTC
- Source terms
- CVE Program Terms of Use
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 3.1 · 5.3 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:N
euvd · EUVD-2026-42658
PublishedGhost is a Node.js content management system. From 6.27.0 before 6.44.0, Ghost's public donation checkout flow allowed an unauthenticated attacker to control donation checkout metadata and obtain full paid gift memberships for a minimal payment without exposing customer or member data or stealing money from a site or its members. This issue is fixed in version 6.44.0.
EUVD source date text has no stated timezone and is retained without inventing a UTC instant. Related bulletin membership is not an alias, common cause or applicability claim. A missing vector with a zero score is treated as unrated. Complete vendor/product and underlying source evidence remains in the original JSON.
Original publisher date fields
datePublished: Jul 9, 2026, 5:40:15 PM
dateUpdated: Jul 14, 2026, 1:04:55 AM
- Source published
- Jul 9, 2026, 5:40:15 PM (timezone not stated)
- Source modified
- Jul 14, 2026, 1:04:55 AM (timezone not stated)
- Observed here
- 7 Nov 2026 13:25:30 UTC
- Source terms
- ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: euvd · ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
EUVD CVSS 3.1 · 5.3 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:N
nvd · CVE-2026-59817
PublishedGhost is a Node.js content management system. From 6.27.0 before 6.44.0, Ghost's public donation checkout flow allowed an unauthenticated attacker to control donation checkout metadata and obtain full paid gift memberships for a minimal payment without exposing customer or member data or stealing money from a site or its members. This issue is fixed in version 6.44.0.
NVD analysis and CPE criteria are source context, not proof that a package or your environment is affected. Complete affected data, logical configurations and SSVC are retained in the original JSON.
Source analysis status: Deferred
Weakness classifications: CWE-472 · CWE-639
Original publisher date fields
published: 2026-07-09T18:16:57.603
lastModified: 2026-10-25T17:10:00.197
- Source published
- 9 Jul 2026 18:16:57 UTC
- Source modified
- 25 Oct 2026 17:10:00 UTC
- Observed here
- 27 Oct 2026 15:15:33 UTC
- Source terms
- NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: nvd · NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 3.1 · [email protected] · Secondary · 5.3 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:N
osv · GHSA-xm43-3m56-w3wf
Published### Impact A vulnerability in Ghost's public donation checkout flow allowed an unauthenticated attacker to obtain full paid gift memberships for a minimal payment. No customer or member data was exposed, and the issue could not be used to steal money from a site or its members. ### Vulnerable versions This vulnerability is present in Ghost from [v6.27.0](https://github.com/TryGhost/Ghost/releases/tag/v6.27.0) up to [v6.43.1](https://github.com/TryGhost/Ghost/releases/tag/v6.43.1). ### Patches [v6.44.0](https://github.com/TryGhost/Ghost/releases/tag/v6.44.0) contains a fix for this issue. ### How to update For self-hosters using Docker, find [Docker’s official Ghost image on Docker Hub](https://hub.docker.com/_/ghost) and follow the documentation on [updating a Docker-based Ghost instance](https://docs.ghost.org/install/docker#updating-ghost). For self-hosters using Ghost-CLI, see the documentation for [updating Ghost to the latest version](https://docs.ghost.org/update). ### Workarounds If upgrading immediately is not possible, you can remove the vulnerable checkout path by disabling the donations feature in Ghost Admin under Settings → Membership → Tips & donations until the upgrade is applied. ### References Ghost thanks sane100400 and [p4p3r](https://hackerone.com/p4p3r_hak) for disclosing this vulnerability responsibly. ### For more information If you have any questions or comments about this advisory, email Ghost at [[email protected]](mailto:[email protected]).
- Source published
- 4 Aug 2026 21:57:48 UTC
- Source modified
- 4 Aug 2026 22:00:24 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:17:17 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V3 · CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:N
Publisher rating · MODERATE