Zitadel allows brute-forcing authentication factors
Collected exploitation and prediction evidence
Risk source coverageCISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.
No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.
cve-program · CVE-2025-64102
PublishedZitadel is open-source identity infrastructure software. Prior to 4.6.0, 3.4.3, and 2.71.18, an attacker can perform an online brute-force attack on OTP, TOTP, and passwords. While Zitadel allows preventing online brute force attacks in scenarios like TOTP, Email OTP, or passwords using a lockout mechanism. The mechanism is not enabled by default and can cause a denial of service for the corresponding user if enabled. Additionally, the mitigation strategies were not fully implemented in the more recent resource-based APIs. This vulnerability is fixed in 4.6.0, 3.4.3, and 2.71.18.
- Source published
- 29 Oct 2025 18:36:15 UTC
- Source modified
- 30 Oct 2025 14:53:53 UTC
- Observed here
- 23 Oct 2026 15:48:27 UTC
- Source terms
- CVE Program Terms of Use
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 4.0 · 7.7 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
euvd · EUVD-2025-36697
PublishedZitadel is open-source identity infrastructure software. Prior to 4.6.0, 3.4.3, and 2.71.18, an attacker can perform an online brute-force attack on OTP, TOTP, and passwords. While Zitadel allows preventing online brute force attacks in scenarios like TOTP, Email OTP, or passwords using a lockout mechanism. The mechanism is not enabled by default and can cause a denial of service for the corresponding user if enabled. Additionally, the mitigation strategies were not fully implemented in the more recent resource-based APIs. This vulnerability is fixed in 4.6.0, 3.4.3, and 2.71.18.
EUVD source date text has no stated timezone and is retained without inventing a UTC instant. Related bulletin membership is not an alias, common cause or applicability claim. A missing vector with a zero score is treated as unrated. Complete vendor/product and underlying source evidence remains in the original JSON.
Original publisher date fields
datePublished: Oct 29, 2025, 6:36:15 PM
dateUpdated: Oct 30, 2025, 2:53:53 PM
1 related source bulletins · separate from aliases
openSUSE-SU-2025:15710-1: govulncheck-vulndb-0.0.20251105T184115-1.1 on GA media
CVE-2016-11063 · CVE-2016-11066 · CVE-2016-11067 · CVE-2016-11068 · CVE-2016-11069 · CVE-2016-11070 · CVE-2016-11071 · CVE-2016-11072 · CVE-2016-11073 · CVE-2016-11074 · CVE-2016-11075 · CVE-2016-11076 · CVE-2016-11077 · CVE-2016-11078 · CVE-2016-11079 · CVE-2016-11080 · CVE-2016-11081 · CVE-2016-11082 · CVE-2016-11083 · CVE-2016-11084 · CVE-2017-18872 · CVE-2023-32199 · CVE-2024-58269 · CVE-2025-10545 · CVE-2025-10678 · CVE-2025-10954 · CVE-2025-11374 · CVE-2025-11375 · CVE-2025-11579 · CVE-2025-11621 · CVE-2025-12044 · CVE-2025-26625 · CVE-2025-27093 · CVE-2025-41410 · CVE-2025-41443 · CVE-2025-54286 · CVE-2025-54287 · CVE-2025-54288 · CVE-2025-54289 · CVE-2025-54290 · CVE-2025-54291 · CVE-2025-54293 · CVE-2025-54469 · CVE-2025-54470 · CVE-2025-54471 · CVE-2025-54499 · CVE-2025-58073 · CVE-2025-58075 · CVE-2025-58356 · CVE-2025-59043 · CVE-2025-59048 · CVE-2025-59530 · CVE-2025-59836 · CVE-2025-59937 · CVE-2025-61141 · CVE-2025-61524 · CVE-2025-61581 · CVE-2025-61688 · CVE-2025-62156 · CVE-2025-62157 · CVE-2025-62375 · CVE-2025-62506 · CVE-2025-62513 · CVE-2025-62705 · CVE-2025-62714 · CVE-2025-62725 · CVE-2025-62820 · CVE-2025-64101 · CVE-2025-64102 · CVE-2025-64103
- Source published
- Oct 29, 2025, 6:36:15 PM (timezone not stated)
- Source modified
- Oct 30, 2025, 2:53:53 PM (timezone not stated)
- Observed here
- 7 Nov 2026 03:28:41 UTC
- Source terms
- ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: euvd · ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
EUVD CVSS 4.0 · 7.7 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
nvd · CVE-2025-64102
PublishedZitadel is open-source identity infrastructure software. Prior to 4.6.0, 3.4.3, and 2.71.18, an attacker can perform an online brute-force attack on OTP, TOTP, and passwords. While Zitadel allows preventing online brute force attacks in scenarios like TOTP, Email OTP, or passwords using a lockout mechanism. The mechanism is not enabled by default and can cause a denial of service for the corresponding user if enabled. Additionally, the mitigation strategies were not fully implemented in the more recent resource-based APIs. This vulnerability is fixed in 4.6.0, 3.4.3, and 2.71.18.
NVD analysis and CPE criteria are source context, not proof that a package or your environment is affected. Complete affected data, logical configurations and SSVC are retained in the original JSON.
Source analysis status: Analyzed
Weakness classifications: CWE-307
Original publisher date fields
published: 2025-10-29T19:15:38.927
lastModified: 2026-10-19T13:10:00.110
1 source CPE criteria · context only
- cpe:2.3:a:zitadel:zitadel:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*
The original JSON retains the logical configuration operators, exclusions and version bounds.
- Source published
- 29 Oct 2025 19:15:38 UTC
- Source modified
- 19 Oct 2026 13:10:00 UTC
- Observed here
- 25 Oct 2026 03:17:29 UTC
- Source terms
- NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: nvd · NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 4.0 · [email protected] · Secondary · 7.7 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
CVSS 3.1 · [email protected] · Primary · 9.8 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
osv · GHSA-xrw9-r35x-x878
Published### Summary A vulnerability in Zitadel allowed brute-force attack on OTP, TOTP and password allowing to impersonate the attacked user. ### Impact An attacker can perform an online brute-force attack on OTP, TOTP, and passwords. While Zitadel allows preventing online brute force attacks in scenarios like TOTP, Email OTP, or passwords using a lockout mechanism. The mechanism is not enabled by default and can cause a denial of service for the corresponding user if enabled. Additionally, the mitigation strategies were not fully implemented in the more recent resource-based APIs. ### Affected Versions All versions within the following ranges, including release candidates (RCs), are affected: - **4.x**: `4.0.0` to `4.4.0` (including RC versions) - **3.x**: `3.0.0` to `3.4.2` (including RC versions) - **2.x**: `v2.0.0` to `2.71.17` ### Patches The vulnerability has been addressed in the latest releases. The patch resolves the issue by enforcing the lockout policy on all OTP, TOTP and password checks. Additionally a “tar pit” has been introduced to slow down brute-force attacks by default. Zitadel responses will be delayed by t seconds, where t increases over the number of failed attempts within a given timeframe. 4.x: Upgrade to >=[4.6.0](https://github.com/zitadel/zitadel/releases/tag/v4.6.0) 3.x: Update to >=[3.4.3](https://github.com/zitadel/zitadel/releases/tag/v3.4.3) 2.x: Update to >=[2.71.18](https://github.com/zitadel/zitadel/releases/tag/v2.71.18) ### Workarounds The recommended solution is to update Zitadel to a patched version. The problem might be mitigated by enabling the optional logout policy ("Password maximum attempts") or by implementing more strict rate limits. ### Questions If you have any questions or comments about this advisory, please email us at [[email protected]](mailto:[email protected]) ### Credits This vulnerability was found by [zentrust partners GmbH](https://zentrust.partners) during a scheduled penetration test. Thank you to the analysts Martin Tschirsich, Joud Zakharia, Christopher Baumann. The full report will be made public after the complete review.
- Source published
- 29 Oct 2025 22:21:05 UTC
- Source modified
- 5 Nov 2025 22:13:38 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:19:41 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
Publisher rating · HIGH
osv · GO-2025-4085
PublishedZitadel allows brute-forcing authentication factors in github.com/zitadel/zitadel. NOTE: The source advisory for this report contains additional versions that could not be automatically mapped to standard Go module versions. (If this is causing false-positive reports from vulnerability scanners, please suggest an edit to the report.) The additional affected modules and versions are: github.com/zitadel/zitadel before v2.71.18.
- Source published
- 5 Nov 2025 18:41:15 UTC
- Source modified
- 5 Nov 2025 19:57:10 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:19:41 UTC
- Source terms
- OSV · upstream source license applies
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · OSV · upstream source license applies. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.