Vikunja before 2.6.0 TOTP Secret Disclosure via API
Collected exploitation and prediction evidence
Risk source coverageCISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.
No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.
cve-program · CVE-2026-91982
PublishedVikunja before 2.6.0 continues to expose the raw TOTP shared secret after enrollment through the GET /api/v1/user/settings/totp and /api/v1/user/settings/totp/qrcode endpoints without re-authentication. Attackers with a valid access token can read the secret, import it into their own authenticator, and generate valid codes indefinitely to defeat the second factor and enable account takeover.
- Source published
- 15 Sep 2026 15:18:26 UTC
- Source modified
- 17 Sep 2026 15:14:33 UTC
- Observed here
- 23 Oct 2026 15:48:27 UTC
- Source terms
- CVE Program Terms of Use
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 3.1 · 4.3 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N
CVSS 4.0 · 5.3 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:L/VI:N/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
euvd · EUVD-2026-78653
PublishedVikunja before 2.6.0 continues to expose the raw TOTP shared secret after enrollment through the GET /api/v1/user/settings/totp and /api/v1/user/settings/totp/qrcode endpoints without re-authentication. Attackers with a valid access token can read the secret, import it into their own authenticator, and generate valid codes indefinitely to defeat the second factor and enable account takeover.
EUVD source date text has no stated timezone and is retained without inventing a UTC instant. Related bulletin membership is not an alias, common cause or applicability claim. A missing vector with a zero score is treated as unrated. Complete vendor/product and underlying source evidence remains in the original JSON.
Original publisher date fields
datePublished: Sep 15, 2026, 3:18:26 PM
dateUpdated: Sep 17, 2026, 3:14:33 PM
- Source published
- Sep 15, 2026, 3:18:26 PM (timezone not stated)
- Source modified
- Sep 17, 2026, 3:14:33 PM (timezone not stated)
- Observed here
- 7 Nov 2026 15:25:09 UTC
- Source terms
- ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: euvd · ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
EUVD CVSS 4.0 · 5.3 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:L/VI:N/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
nvd · CVE-2026-91982
PublishedVikunja before 2.6.0 continues to expose the raw TOTP shared secret after enrollment through the GET /api/v1/user/settings/totp and /api/v1/user/settings/totp/qrcode endpoints without re-authentication. Attackers with a valid access token can read the secret, import it into their own authenticator, and generate valid codes indefinitely to defeat the second factor and enable account takeover.
NVD analysis and CPE criteria are source context, not proof that a package or your environment is affected. Complete affected data, logical configurations and SSVC are retained in the original JSON.
Source analysis status: Deferred
Weakness classifications: CWE-522
Original publisher date fields
published: 2026-09-15T16:17:55.227
lastModified: 2026-09-17T16:18:32.237
- Source published
- 15 Sep 2026 16:17:55 UTC
- Source modified
- 17 Sep 2026 16:18:32 UTC
- Observed here
- 25 Oct 2026 16:19:22 UTC
- Source terms
- NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: nvd · NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 4.0 · [email protected] · Secondary · 5.3 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:L/VI:N/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
CVSS 3.1 · [email protected] · Secondary · 4.3 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N
osv · GHSA-88f6-4rjv-x774
Published### Summary Once a user has TOTP enabled, the API still hands back the raw shared secret to anyone holding that account's access token. Reading it doesn't ask for the password, even though disabling TOTP does. So a stolen token, an XSS, or a browser left open is enough to copy the second factor into your own authenticator and keep generating valid codes indefinitely. ### Details `GET /api/v1/user/settings/totp` returns the full TOTP object, including the secret field and the otpauth:// provisioning URL. `GET /api/v1/user/settings/totp/qrcode` renders the same secret as a QR image. Neither requires re-authentication, the access token alone is enough. This is inconsistent with the rest of the flow: `POST /api/v1/user/settings/totp/disable` calls CheckUserPassword before it will turn TOTP off. So the destructive action is gated behind the password, but reading out the secret that backs the second factor isn't. There's also no reason for the secret to be readable at all once enrollment is finished, the client only needs it during setup. The fix is to stop returning secret/url/the QR code once enabled is true (only expose them during the enrollment window). Requiring the password on the read, like disable already does, would also be reasonable. ### PoC The attacker needs the victim's access token, from an XSS, a leaked/stolen token, or an unlocked session. TOTP must already be enabled on the account. 1. With the victim's bearer token, call: ``` GET /api/v1/user/settings/totp Authorization: Bearer <victim_token> ``` The response contains the shared secret and the otpauth:// URL: ``` {"secret": "<base32 secret>", "enabled": true, "url": "otpauth://totp/..."} ``` 2. Paste that secret (or scan `/api/v1/user/settings/totp/qrcode`) into any authenticator app. 3. It now produces the same 6-digit codes as the victim's device. Nothing is logged and the victim gets no notification. ### Impact This defeats the purpose of the second factor. 2FA is supposed to survive exactly this situation, a compromised password or a hijacked session, but a single read of the account's own settings hands over the shared secret with no step-up check and no trace. Combined with a known or later-recovered password, it's a durable account takeover that TOTP was meant to prevent.
- Source published
- 9 Oct 2026 20:51:17 UTC
- Source modified
- 19 Oct 2026 21:41:10 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:19:41 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:L/VI:N/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
Publisher rating · MODERATE
osv · GHSA-jmr8-r558-3jhx
Withdrawn### Duplicate Advisory This advisory has been withdrawn because it is a duplicate of GHSA-88f6-4rjv-x774. This link is maintained to preserve external references. ### Original Description Vikunja before 2.6.0 continues to expose the raw TOTP shared secret after enrollment through the GET /api/v1/user/settings/totp and /api/v1/user/settings/totp/qrcode endpoints without re-authentication. Attackers with a valid access token can read the secret, import it into their own authenticator, and generate valid codes indefinitely to defeat the second factor and enable account takeover.
- Source published
- 15 Sep 2026 18:32:30 UTC
- Source modified
- 9 Oct 2026 21:00:06 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:19:41 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V3 · CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N
CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:L/VI:N/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
Publisher rating · MODERATE
osv · GO-2026-6722
PublishedVikunja: TOTP secret is readable after enrollment, no step-up auth in code.vikunja.io/api. NOTE: The source advisory for this report contains additional versions that could not be automatically mapped to standard Go module versions. (If this is causing false-positive reports from vulnerability scanners, please suggest an edit to the report.) The additional affected modules and versions are: code.vikunja.io/api before v2.6.0.
- Source published
- 19 Oct 2026 21:08:26 UTC
- Source modified
- 19 Oct 2026 21:31:52 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:19:41 UTC
- Source terms
- OSV · upstream source license applies
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · OSV · upstream source license applies. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.