OpenClaw < 2026.5.3 - Mutable Display Name Binding in Zalo allowFrom Policy
Collected exploitation and prediction evidence
Risk source coverageCISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.
No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.
cve-program · CVE-2026-53857
PublishedOpenClaw before 2026.5.3 contains a policy enforcement vulnerability where Zalo contacts with mutable display metadata could match allowFrom policy entries through display name changes. Attackers with mutable display names could receive agent responses intended for different Zalo identities when the feature is enabled.
- Source published
- 16 Jun 2026 18:05:05 UTC
- Source modified
- 18 Jun 2026 03:55:56 UTC
- Observed here
- 23 Oct 2026 15:48:27 UTC
- Source terms
- CVE Program Terms of Use
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 4.0 · 8.6 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
CVSS 3.1 · 8.1 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N
euvd · EUVD-2026-37159
PublishedOpenClaw before 2026.5.3 contains a policy enforcement vulnerability where Zalo contacts with mutable display metadata could match allowFrom policy entries through display name changes. Attackers with mutable display names could receive agent responses intended for different Zalo identities when the feature is enabled.
EUVD source date text has no stated timezone and is retained without inventing a UTC instant. Related bulletin membership is not an alias, common cause or applicability claim. A missing vector with a zero score is treated as unrated. Complete vendor/product and underlying source evidence remains in the original JSON.
Original publisher date fields
datePublished: Jun 16, 2026, 6:05:05 PM
dateUpdated: Jun 18, 2026, 3:55:56 AM
- Source published
- Jun 16, 2026, 6:05:05 PM (timezone not stated)
- Source modified
- Jun 18, 2026, 3:55:56 AM (timezone not stated)
- Observed here
- 7 Nov 2026 12:27:31 UTC
- Source terms
- ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: euvd · ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
EUVD CVSS 4.0 · 8.6 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
nvd · CVE-2026-53857
PublishedOpenClaw before 2026.5.3 contains a policy enforcement vulnerability where Zalo contacts with mutable display metadata could match allowFrom policy entries through display name changes. Attackers with mutable display names could receive agent responses intended for different Zalo identities when the feature is enabled.
NVD analysis and CPE criteria are source context, not proof that a package or your environment is affected. Complete affected data, logical configurations and SSVC are retained in the original JSON.
Source analysis status: Analyzed
Weakness classifications: CWE-290
Original publisher date fields
published: 2026-06-16T19:17:03.180
lastModified: 2026-10-25T23:10:00.167
1 source CPE criteria · context only
- cpe:2.3:a:openclaw:openclaw:*:*:*:*:*:node.js:*:*
The original JSON retains the logical configuration operators, exclusions and version bounds.
- Source published
- 16 Jun 2026 19:17:03 UTC
- Source modified
- 25 Oct 2026 23:10:00 UTC
- Observed here
- 27 Oct 2026 14:13:29 UTC
- Source terms
- NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: nvd · NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 4.0 · [email protected] · Secondary · 8.6 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
CVSS 3.1 · [email protected] · Secondary · 8.1 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N
osv · GHSA-8c59-hr4w-qg69
Published### Summary Zalo allowFrom could bind to mutable display names. In affected versions, a Zalo friend or contact with mutable display metadata could match a policy entry through mutable display metadata. This advisory is scoped to the named feature and configuration. It does not change OpenClaw's trusted-operator model: authenticated Gateway operators, installed plugins, and intentional local execution surfaces remain trusted unless a separate policy, approval, allowlist, sandbox, or auth boundary is crossed. ### Impact When the affected feature is enabled and reachable, this could receive agent responses intended for another Zalo identity. Practical impact depends on the operator's configuration and whether lower-trust input can reach that path. ### Patched Versions The first stable patched version is `2026.5.3`. ### Mitigations use stable Zalo identifiers where available and keep friend access restricted until patched. As general hardening, keep channel and tool allowlists narrow, avoid sharing one Gateway between mutually untrusted users, and disable the affected feature when it is not needed.
- Source published
- 18 Jun 2026 20:17:50 UTC
- Source modified
- 18 Jun 2026 20:41:28 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:17:17 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V3 · CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N
CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
Publisher rating · HIGH
osv · GHSA-w7m7-3xcf-mp48
Withdrawn## Duplicate Advisory This advisory has been withdrawn because it is a duplicate of GHSA-8c59-hr4w-qg69. This link is maintained to preserve external references. ## Original Description OpenClaw before 2026.5.3 contains a policy enforcement vulnerability where Zalo contacts with mutable display metadata could match allowFrom policy entries through display name changes. Attackers with mutable display names could receive agent responses intended for different Zalo identities when the feature is enabled.
- Source published
- 16 Jun 2026 21:31:59 UTC
- Source modified
- 18 Jun 2026 20:30:25 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:17:17 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V3 · CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N
CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
Publisher rating · HIGH