Gitea user organization API bypasses public-only token filtering
Collected exploitation and prediction evidence
Risk source coverageCISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.
No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.
cve-program · CVE-2026-25714
PublishedGitea versions up to and including 1.26.1 do not apply public-only token filtering consistently to the user organization API, leaving an incomplete fix for CVE-2025-68941.
- Source published
- 3 Jul 2026 20:19:32 UTC
- Source modified
- 7 Jul 2026 16:59:52 UTC
- Observed here
- 23 Oct 2026 15:48:27 UTC
- Source terms
- CVE Program Terms of Use
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 3.1 · 4.3 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N
euvd · EUVD-2026-41623
PublishedGitea versions up to and including 1.26.1 do not apply public-only token filtering consistently to the user organization API, leaving an incomplete fix for CVE-2025-68941.
EUVD source date text has no stated timezone and is retained without inventing a UTC instant. Related bulletin membership is not an alias, common cause or applicability claim. A missing vector with a zero score is treated as unrated. Complete vendor/product and underlying source evidence remains in the original JSON.
Original publisher date fields
datePublished: Jul 3, 2026, 8:19:32 PM
dateUpdated: Jul 7, 2026, 4:59:52 PM
- Source published
- Jul 3, 2026, 8:19:32 PM (timezone not stated)
- Source modified
- Jul 7, 2026, 4:59:52 PM (timezone not stated)
- Observed here
- 7 Nov 2026 05:36:08 UTC
- Source terms
- ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: euvd · ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
EUVD CVSS 3.1 · 4.3 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N
nvd · CVE-2026-25714
PublishedGitea versions up to and including 1.26.1 do not apply public-only token filtering consistently to the user organization API, leaving an incomplete fix for CVE-2025-68941.
NVD analysis and CPE criteria are source context, not proof that a package or your environment is affected. Complete affected data, logical configurations and SSVC are retained in the original JSON.
Source analysis status: Deferred
Weakness classifications: CWE-862
Original publisher date fields
published: 2026-07-03T21:16:57.707
lastModified: 2026-10-25T15:10:00.147
- Source published
- 3 Jul 2026 21:16:57 UTC
- Source modified
- 25 Oct 2026 15:10:00 UTC
- Observed here
- 27 Oct 2026 07:23:16 UTC
- Source terms
- NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: nvd · NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 3.1 · 88ee5874-cf24-4952-aea0-31affedb7ff2 · Secondary · 4.3 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N
osv · GHSA-8629-vc8r-5p58
Published## Summary Two related issues in the token public-only scope enforcement introduced by PR #32204 (CVE-2025-68941 fix). A public-only scoped API token can access private organization data. ## Issue 1: /user/orgs missing checkTokenPublicOnly() `routers/api/v1/api.go` line 1599: ```go m.Get("/user/orgs", reqToken(), tokenRequiresScopes( auth_model.AccessTokenScopeCategoryUser, auth_model.AccessTokenScopeCategoryOrganization, ), org.ListMyOrgs) // Missing checkTokenPublicOnly() ``` Adjacent route at line 1603 has it: ```go m.Group("/users/{username}/orgs", func() { ... }, ..., checkTokenPublicOnly()) ``` ## Issue 2: checkTokenPublicOnly switch-case evaluates only first matching category `routers/api/v1/api.go` lines 253-295. Go switch executes only the first matching case. For routes with categories [User, Organization]: 1. Organization case matches first (line 263) 2. ctx.Org.Organization is nil on user routes, passes 3. ctx.ContextUser.IsOrganization() is false, passes 4. User case (line 273) is never reached 5. User visibility check skipped entirely ## Steps to Reproduce 1. Create a token with public-only scope (Settings > Applications > check "public only") 2. Call: `curl -H "Authorization: token <PUBLIC_ONLY_TOKEN>" https://gitea.example.com/api/v1/user/orgs` 3. Response includes private and limited-visibility organizations Expected: only public organizations returned. ## Impact Public-only scoped tokens can enumerate private organizations the token owner belongs to. Violates the token's declared scope constraints. ## Suggested Fix 1. Add `checkTokenPublicOnly()` to `/user/orgs` route at line 1599 2. Replace switch with loop over all categories so User visibility check is not skipped ## Version Current main branch, commit 2c2d7e6 (April 3, 2026).
- Source published
- 16 Jun 2026 23:41:31 UTC
- Source modified
- 25 Jun 2026 19:56:08 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:19:41 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V3 · CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N
Publisher rating · MODERATE
osv · GO-2026-5243
PublishedGitea: Incomplete CVE-2025-68941 fix: /user/orgs missing checkTokenPublicOnly + switch-case logic flaw in code.gitea.io/gitea
- Source published
- 25 Jun 2026 18:43:15 UTC
- Source modified
- 25 Jun 2026 19:45:20 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:19:41 UTC
- Source terms
- OSV · upstream source license applies
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · OSV · upstream source license applies. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.