Public mode

No access to your tenant or devices. Every item links to its source. What this means

Some sources or documents need attention: 275/275 feeds/APIs · 469/469 docs · 9/9 advisories · checked 20:22 UTC Customize Public modeDiscuss ChangeIntel on Discord

OpenClaw < 2026.4.29 - Arbitrary Package Manager Execution via Workspace .env npm_execpath

Collected exploitation and prediction evidence

Risk source coverage

CISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.

No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.

cve-program · CVE-2026-53846

Published

OpenClaw before 2026.4.29 contains a path traversal vulnerability in the install helper that allows workspace .env files to override the npm_execpath configuration used for bundled runtime dependency installation. Attackers with workspace access can execute unintended local package-manager executables during dependency setup to compromise the build environment.

Source published
16 Jun 2026 18:04:57 UTC
Source modified
18 Jun 2026 14:24:09 UTC
Observed here
23 Oct 2026 15:48:27 UTC
Source terms
CVE Program Terms of Use

Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON

This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.

CVSS 4.0 · 7.0 CVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:A/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N

CVSS 3.1 · 7.1 CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N

euvd · EUVD-2026-37148

Published

OpenClaw before 2026.4.29 contains a path traversal vulnerability in the install helper that allows workspace .env files to override the npm_execpath configuration used for bundled runtime dependency installation. Attackers with workspace access can execute unintended local package-manager executables during dependency setup to compromise the build environment.

EUVD source date text has no stated timezone and is retained without inventing a UTC instant. Related bulletin membership is not an alias, common cause or applicability claim. A missing vector with a zero score is treated as unrated. Complete vendor/product and underlying source evidence remains in the original JSON.

Original publisher date fields

datePublished: Jun 16, 2026, 6:04:57 PM

dateUpdated: Jun 18, 2026, 2:24:09 PM

Source published
Jun 16, 2026, 6:04:57 PM (timezone not stated)
Source modified
Jun 18, 2026, 2:24:09 PM (timezone not stated)
Observed here
7 Nov 2026 12:27:18 UTC
Source terms
ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply

Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON

This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: euvd · ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.

EUVD CVSS 4.0 · 7.0 CVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:A/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N

nvd · CVE-2026-53846

Published

OpenClaw before 2026.4.29 contains a path traversal vulnerability in the install helper that allows workspace .env files to override the npm_execpath configuration used for bundled runtime dependency installation. Attackers with workspace access can execute unintended local package-manager executables during dependency setup to compromise the build environment.

NVD analysis and CPE criteria are source context, not proof that a package or your environment is affected. Complete affected data, logical configurations and SSVC are retained in the original JSON.

Source analysis status: Analyzed

Weakness classifications: CWE-426

Original publisher date fields

published: 2026-06-16T19:17:01.653

lastModified: 2026-10-25T23:10:00.167

5 source CPE criteria · context only
  • cpe:2.3:a:openclaw:openclaw:*:*:*:*:*:node.js:*:*
  • cpe:2.3:a:openclaw:openclaw:2026.4.29:beta1:*:*:*:node.js:*:*
  • cpe:2.3:a:openclaw:openclaw:2026.4.29:beta2:*:*:*:node.js:*:*
  • cpe:2.3:a:openclaw:openclaw:2026.4.29:beta3:*:*:*:node.js:*:*
  • cpe:2.3:a:openclaw:openclaw:2026.4.29:beta4:*:*:*:node.js:*:*

The original JSON retains the logical configuration operators, exclusions and version bounds.

Source published
16 Jun 2026 19:17:01 UTC
Source modified
25 Oct 2026 23:10:00 UTC
Observed here
27 Oct 2026 14:13:29 UTC
Source terms
NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained

Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON

This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: nvd · NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.

CVSS 4.0 · [email protected] · Secondary · 7.0 CVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:A/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X

CVSS 3.1 · [email protected] · Secondary · 7.1 CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N

osv · GHSA-24vr-rprv-67rf

Published

### Summary Workspace .env npm_execpath could influence bundled runtime dependency install. In affected versions, a workspace `.env` in a repository opened by a trusted operator could override the package-manager executable path used by the install helper. This advisory is scoped to the named feature and configuration. It does not change OpenClaw's trusted-operator model: authenticated Gateway operators, installed plugins, and intentional local execution surfaces remain trusted unless a separate policy, approval, allowlist, sandbox, or auth boundary is crossed. ### Impact When the affected feature is enabled and reachable, this could run an unintended local package-manager executable during dependency setup. Practical impact depends on the operator's configuration and whether lower-trust input can reach that path. ### Patched Versions The first stable patched version is `2026.4.29`. ### Mitigations install bundled runtime dependencies from trusted workspaces until patched. As general hardening, keep channel and tool allowlists narrow, avoid sharing one Gateway between mutually untrusted users, and disable the affected feature when it is not needed.

Source published
18 Jun 2026 20:33:54 UTC
Source modified
18 Jun 2026 20:56:28 UTC
Observed here
24 Oct 2026 13:17:17 UTC
Source terms
GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0

Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON

This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.

CVSS_V3 · CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N

CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:A/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N

Publisher rating · HIGH

osv · GHSA-qp5j-jr73-m2pw

Withdrawn

## Duplicate Advisory This advisory has been withdrawn because it is a duplicate of GHSA-24vr-rprv-67rf. This link is maintained to preserve external references. ## Original Description OpenClaw before 2026.4.29 contains a path traversal vulnerability in the install helper that allows workspace .env files to override the npm_execpath configuration used for bundled runtime dependency installation. Attackers with workspace access can execute unintended local package-manager executables during dependency setup to compromise the build environment.

Source published
16 Jun 2026 21:31:58 UTC
Source modified
18 Jun 2026 20:45:17 UTC
Observed here
24 Oct 2026 13:17:17 UTC
Source terms
GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0

Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON

This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.

CVSS_V3 · CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N

CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:A/VC:H/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N

Publisher rating · HIGH

ChangeIntel

An IT change radar: releases, security, known issues, retirements, documentation changes, and service status from public sources. Every item links to supporting evidence; dates and statuses can change after they are read.

Sources read 7 Nov 20:22 UTC · 275 of 275 readable · 274 fully read · documentation 469/469 current