Public mode

No access to your tenant or devices. Every item links to its source. What this means

Some sources, documents or advisories need attention: 275/275 feeds/APIs · 469/469 docs · 8/9 advisories · checked 15:09 UTC Customize Public modeDiscuss ChangeIntel on Discord

Windows MIDI Service Module Elevation of Privileges Vulnerability

Assessment

Heap-based buffer overflow in Windows MIDI Service Module allows an authorized attacker to elevate privileges locally.

Severity
Unrated
CVSS base score
Not published
Impact
Not stated
EPSS · 30-day forecast
0.3%FIRST forecast dated 31 Oct 2026, for the following 30 days · FIRST percentile 26.7% · about EPSS
Public detection template
No Nuclei template is listed in the current collected catalog
Exploitation detected
No known exploitation (MSRC assessment)
Exploitability
Exploitation More Likely
Publicly disclosed
No (MSRC assessment)
Customer action
Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance
Component
Windows MIDI Service Module
Weakness
CWE-122: Heap-based Buffer Overflow
Issued by
Microsoft
Published
11 Aug 2026 · August 2026
Last revised
14 Oct 2026Updated an acknowledgement. This is an informational change only.

Updates that fix it

0 KBs

No KB listed

No KB update is listed in the collected MSRC record. Check the MSRC advisory for product releases and other remedies.

What changed

  1. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed · Customer action: Required: apply the update → Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance · Public disclosure: No → No (MSRC assessment) · Exploitation detected: Not reported by MSRC → No known exploitation (MSRC assessment)
  2. Fixes: KB5120994: Windows 11 Version 24H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 24H2 for x64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for x64-based Systems (restart required); KB5121000: Windows 11 Version 26H1 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 version 26H1 for x64-based Systems (restart required); KB5121003: Windows 11 Version 24H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 24H2 for x64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for x64-based Systems (restart required) → No KB listed · Affected products: Windows 11 Version 24H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 24H2 for x64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for x64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 26H1 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 version 26H1 for x64-based Systems → · Impact: Elevation of Privilege → Not stated · CVSS vector: CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:U/RL:O/RC:C → Not published · CVSS score: 7.8 → Not published · Severity: Important → Unrated
  3. Detection template: Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed · CISA KEV: Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained → Not listed in the collected catalog
  4. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained · CISA KEV: Not listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
Page history

Changes are dated when recorded; day views use the last saved version from that UTC day, and citations stay fixed.

Cite this version
Field-level log (42)

Up to 100 recent field edits are shown; older edits may be outside retention.

  1. 31 Oct 2026 · 18:22:15 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 30 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 31 Oct 2026
  2. 30 Oct 2026 · 18:02:45 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 29 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 30 Oct 2026
  3. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Public detection templateNo Nuclei template listed
  4. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Customer actionRequired: apply the update → Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance
  5. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Publicly disclosedNo → No (MSRC assessment)
  6. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Exploitation detectedNot reported by MSRC → No known exploitation (MSRC assessment)
  7. 29 Oct 2026 · 18:33:30 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 28 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 29 Oct 2026
  8. 28 Oct 2026 · 21:02:32 UTC Updates that fix itKB5120994: Windows 11 Version 24H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 24H2 for x64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for x64-based Systems (restart required); KB5121000: Windows 11 Version 26H1 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 version 26H1 for x64-based Systems (restart required); KB5121003: Windows 11 Version 24H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 24H2 for x64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for x64-based Systems (restart required) → No KB listed
  9. 28 Oct 2026 · 21:02:32 UTC Affected productsWindows 11 Version 24H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 24H2 for x64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 25H2 for x64-based Systems, Windows 11 Version 26H1 for ARM64-based Systems, Windows 11 version 26H1 for x64-based Systems →
  10. 28 Oct 2026 · 21:02:32 UTC ImpactElevation of Privilege → Not stated
  11. 28 Oct 2026 · 21:02:32 UTC CVSS vectorCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:U/RL:O/RC:C → Not published
  12. 28 Oct 2026 · 21:02:32 UTC CVSS base score7.8 → Not published
  13. 28 Oct 2026 · 21:02:32 UTC SeverityImportant → Unrated
  14. 28 Oct 2026 · 20:00:33 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 27 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 28 Oct 2026
  15. 27 Oct 2026 · 15:48:13 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 26 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 27 Oct 2026
  16. 26 Oct 2026 · 23:57:09 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 25 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 26 Oct 2026
  17. 25 Oct 2026 · 17:12:51 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 24 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 25 Oct 2026
  18. 25 Oct 2026 · 01:34:18 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 23 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 24 Oct 2026
  19. 23 Oct 2026 · 15:51:28 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 22 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 23 Oct 2026
  20. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Public exploit codeUnknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  21. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC CISA KEVUnknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained → Not listed in the collected catalog
  22. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeIncomplete → Current
  23. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: first-epssIncomplete → Current
  24. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevIncomplete → Current
  25. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
  26. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Public exploit codeNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained
  27. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC CISA KEVNot listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
  28. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  29. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  30. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevCurrent → Incomplete
  31. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete
  32. 22 Oct 2026 · 17:33:15 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 21 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 22 Oct 2026
  33. 21 Oct 2026 · 21:47:24 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 20 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 21 Oct 2026
  34. 20 Oct 2026 · 20:53:31 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 19 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 20 Oct 2026
  35. 19 Oct 2026 · 15:12:40 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 18 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 19 Oct 2026
  36. 18 Oct 2026 · 14:54:30 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 16 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 18 Oct 2026
  37. 18 Oct 2026 · 14:54:30 UTC Link: August 2026/security?release=2026-Aug#cves
  38. 16 Oct 2026 · 16:13:25 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 15 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 16 Oct 2026
  39. 15 Oct 2026 · 21:30:54 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 14 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 15 Oct 2026
  40. 15 Oct 2026 · 01:07:54 UTC EPSS0.3%; scored 13 Oct 2026 → 0.3%; scored 14 Oct 2026
  41. 14 Oct 2026 · 15:58:54 UTC Last revised9 Oct 2026 07:00 UTC → 14 Oct 2026 07:00 UTC
  42. 14 Oct 2026 · 11:22:42 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current

Explore global source statements, affected packages and advisory history for CVE-2026-62688. The catalog has a separate collection scope from Microsoft release records.

cve-program · CVE-2026-62688

Published

Windows 11 Version 24H2

Vendor product

Original vendor version evidence · not evaluated as a NuGet range
{
                    "vendor": "Microsoft",
                    "product": "Windows 11 Version 24H2",
                    "platforms": [
                        "ARM64-based Systems",
                        "x64-based Systems"
                    ],
                    "versions": [
                        {
                            "version": "10.0.26100.0",
                            "lessThan": "10.0.26100.9168",
                            "versionType": "custom",
                            "status": "affected"
                        }
                    ]
                }

Windows 11 Version 25H2

Vendor product

Original vendor version evidence · not evaluated as a NuGet range
{
                    "vendor": "Microsoft",
                    "product": "Windows 11 Version 25H2",
                    "platforms": [
                        "ARM64-based Systems",
                        "x64-based Systems"
                    ],
                    "versions": [
                        {
                            "version": "10.0.26200.0",
                            "lessThan": "10.0.26200.9168",
                            "versionType": "custom",
                            "status": "affected"
                        }
                    ]
                }

Windows 11 version 26H1

Vendor product

Original vendor version evidence · not evaluated as a NuGet range
{
                    "vendor": "Microsoft",
                    "product": "Windows 11 version 26H1",
                    "platforms": [
                        "ARM64-based Systems",
                        "x64-based Systems"
                    ],
                    "versions": [
                        {
                            "version": "10.0.28000.0",
                            "lessThan": "10.0.28000.2704",
                            "versionType": "custom",
                            "status": "affected"
                        }
                    ]
                }

Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON

ChangeIntel

An IT change radar: releases, security, known issues, retirements, documentation changes, and service status from public sources. Every item links to supporting evidence; dates and statuses can change after they are read.

Sources read 1 Nov 15:09 UTC · 275 of 275 readable · 272 fully read · documentation 469/469 current