n8n before 2.30.1 Privilege Escalation via run_node_tool
Collected exploitation and prediction evidence
Risk source coverageCISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.
No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.
cve-program · CVE-2026-65015
Publishedn8n versions before 2.30.1 contain a privilege escalation vulnerability in the AI Agents feature where the node-execution tool lacks proper authorization checks. A Project Viewer user can escalate privileges by chatting with an agent that has node tools enabled, executing arbitrary nodes and accessing credential secrets without proper authorization verification.
- Source published
- 22 Jul 2026 11:21:38 UTC
- Source modified
- 29 Oct 2026 21:16:19 UTC
- Observed here
- 29 Oct 2026 22:48:55 UTC
- Source terms
- CVE Program Terms of Use
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 4.0 · 7.2 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:L/VA:N/SC:H/SI:L/SA:L
euvd · EUVD-2026-47631
Publishedn8n versions before 2.30.1 contain a privilege escalation vulnerability in the AI Agents feature where the node-execution tool lacks proper authorization checks. A Project Viewer user can escalate privileges by chatting with an agent that has node tools enabled, executing arbitrary nodes and accessing credential secrets without proper authorization verification.
EUVD source date text has no stated timezone and is retained without inventing a UTC instant. Related bulletin membership is not an alias, common cause or applicability claim. A missing vector with a zero score is treated as unrated. Complete vendor/product and underlying source evidence remains in the original JSON.
Original publisher date fields
datePublished: Jul 22, 2026, 11:21:38 AM
dateUpdated: Oct 29, 2026, 9:16:19 PM
- Source published
- Jul 22, 2026, 11:21:38 AM (timezone not stated)
- Source modified
- Oct 29, 2026, 9:16:19 PM (timezone not stated)
- Observed here
- 5 Nov 2026 12:48:57 UTC
- Source terms
- ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: euvd · ENISA EUVD · source terms and attribution apply. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
EUVD CVSS 4.0 · 7.2 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:L/VA:N/SC:H/SI:L/SA:L
nvd · CVE-2026-65015
Publishedn8n versions before 2.30.1 contain a privilege escalation vulnerability in the AI Agents feature where the node-execution tool lacks proper authorization checks. A Project Viewer user can escalate privileges by chatting with an agent that has node tools enabled, executing arbitrary nodes and accessing credential secrets without proper authorization verification.
NVD analysis and CPE criteria are source context, not proof that a package or your environment is affected. Complete affected data, logical configurations and SSVC are retained in the original JSON.
Source analysis status: Analyzed
Weakness classifications: CWE-863
Original publisher date fields
published: 2026-07-22T12:18:18.587
lastModified: 2026-10-29T19:17:25.600
4 source CPE criteria · context only
- cpe:2.3:a:n8n:n8n:*:*:*:*:community:node.js:*:*
- cpe:2.3:a:n8n:n8n:*:*:*:*:enterprise:node.js:*:*
- cpe:2.3:a:n8n:n8n:2.30.0:*:*:*:community:node.js:*:*
- cpe:2.3:a:n8n:n8n:2.30.0:*:*:*:enterprise:node.js:*:*
The original JSON retains the logical configuration operators, exclusions and version bounds.
- Source published
- 22 Jul 2026 12:18:18 UTC
- Source modified
- 29 Oct 2026 19:17:25 UTC
- Observed here
- 31 Oct 2026 18:05:00 UTC
- Source terms
- NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: nvd · NIST NVD usage terms; underlying source attribution retained. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS 4.0 · [email protected] · Secondary · 7.2 CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:L/VA:N/SC:H/SI:L/SA:L/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
CVSS 3.1 · [email protected] · Primary · 8.8 CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
osv · GHSA-w46p-w7w2-fr9g
Withdrawn## Duplicate Advisory This advisory has been withdrawn because it is a duplicate of GHSA-x5vx-c2c8-m3w9. This link is maintained to preserve external references. ## Original Description n8n versions before 2.30.1 contain a privilege escalation vulnerability in the AI Agents feature where the node-execution tool lacks proper authorization checks. A Project Viewer user can escalate privileges by chatting with an agent that has node tools enabled, executing arbitrary nodes and accessing credential secrets without proper authorization verification.
- Source published
- 22 Jul 2026 12:32:17 UTC
- Source modified
- 22 Jul 2026 18:01:07 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:17:17 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:L/VA:N/SC:H/SI:L/SA:L/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
Publisher rating · HIGH
osv · GHSA-x5vx-c2c8-m3w9
Published## Impact In n8n's AI Agents feature, a user with the read-only Project Viewer role could escalate their privileges by chatting with an agent that has node tools enabled. The agent's node-execution tool was authorized only by the `agent:execute` scope and ran nodes using the project's credentials, without verifying that the requesting user was permitted to execute nodes or to access those credentials. As a result, a Project Viewer could execute arbitrary tool nodes on the server and use credential secrets they were not authorized to read, gaining execution capabilities their role is intended to deny. On instances where a command- or file-capable tool node (such as Execute Command or SSH) is enabled, this could be extended to arbitrary command execution on the n8n host. Users of the AI Agents feature who share team projects with lower-privileged members are affected. ## Patches The issue has been fixed in n8n versions 2.29.8 and 2.30.1. Users should upgrade to one of these versions or later to remediate the vulnerability. ## Workarounds If upgrading is not immediately possible, administrators should consider the following temporary mitigations: - Disable the AI Agents module by removing `agents` from the `N8N_ENABLED_MODULES` environment variable. - Restrict project membership to fully trusted users only, and avoid granting Project Viewer access to untrusted users on projects containing agents with node tools enabled. - Disable command-execution nodes (e.g. Execute Command, SSH) if they have been re-enabled, to limit the potential impact. These workarounds do not fully remediate the risk and should only be used as short-term mitigation measures.
- Source published
- 22 Jul 2026 17:55:55 UTC
- Source modified
- 22 Jul 2026 18:11:51 UTC
- Observed here
- 24 Oct 2026 13:17:17 UTC
- Source terms
- GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0
Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON
This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: osv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC-BY-4.0. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.
CVSS_V4 · CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:L/VA:N/SC:H/SI:L/SA:L
Publisher rating · HIGH