Public mode

No access to your tenant or devices. Every item links to its source. What this means

Some sources, documents or advisories need attention: 272/272 feeds/APIs · 469/469 docs · 8/9 advisories · checked 03:56 UTC Customize Public modeDiscuss ChangeIntel on Discord

Recorded 23 Oct 2026 at 08:31 UTC. This is what ChangeIntel recorded, including the title, summary, facts and links. It is not a statement of the source's current position. See the latest record.

Rsyslog: rsyslog: denial of service via heap buffer overflow in rainerscript replace() function

Rsyslog: rsyslog: denial of service via heap buffer overflow in rainerscript replace() function

What it said

CVE
CVE-2026-78002
Severity
Moderate
CVSS base score
7.5
CVSS vector
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H/E:U
Impact
Not stated
Exploitation detected
Not reported by MSRC
Publicly disclosed
No
Exploitability
Not assessed
Component
Mariner
Weakness
CWE-131: Incorrect Calculation of Buffer Size
Issued by
redhat
Customer action
Required: apply the update
Affected products
azl3 rsyslog 8.2308.0-5 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 rsyslog 8.2308.0-6 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 rsyslog 8.2308.0-7 on Azure Linux 3.0
Updates that fix it
No KB listed
CISA KEV
Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
EPSS
Not scored
Public exploit code
Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained
Published
2 Sep 2026 01:05 UTC
Last revised
2 Oct 2026 01:47 UTC
Revision note
Information published.

Source evidence when recorded

Microsoft security releases
IncompleteRead 23 Oct 2026 at 08:14 UTC
CISA KEV
IncompleteRead 23 Oct 2026 at 08:14 UTC
FIRST EPSS
IncompleteRead 23 Oct 2026 at 08:14 UTC
Public exploit code
IncompleteRead 23 Oct 2026 at 08:14 UTC

Coverage describes the sources at this observation. A complete read then does not establish their current position.

What changed

  1. Public exploit code: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained · CISA KEV: Not listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
Page history

Changes are dated when recorded; day views use the last saved version from that UTC day, and citations stay fixed.

Cite this version
Field-level log (8)

Up to 100 recent field edits are shown; older edits may be outside retention.

  1. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Public exploit codeNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained
  2. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC CISA KEVNot listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
  3. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  4. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  5. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevCurrent → Incomplete
  6. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete
  7. 18 Oct 2026 · 14:54:30 UTC Link: August 2026/security?release=2026-Aug#cves
  8. 14 Oct 2026 · 11:22:42 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
ChangeIntel

An IT change radar: releases, security, known issues, retirements, documentation changes, and service status from public sources. Every item links to supporting evidence; dates and statuses can change after they are read.

Sources read 28 Oct 03:56 UTC · 272 of 272 readable · 270 fully read · documentation 469/469 current