Public mode

No access to your tenant or devices. Every item links to its source. What this means

Some sources, documents or advisories need attention: 272/272 feeds/APIs · 469/469 docs · 8/9 advisories · checked 19:23 UTC Customize Public modeDiscuss ChangeIntel on Discord

Emacs: emacs: arbitrary code execution in flymake mode

Assessment

Severity
Important
CVSS base score
7.8CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
Impact
Not stated
EPSS · 30-day forecast
No EPSS score collected
Public detection template
No Nuclei template is listed in the current collected catalog
Exploitation detected
Unknown: not stated by MSRC
Exploitability
Not assessed
Publicly disclosed
Unknown: not stated by MSRC
Customer action
Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance
Component
Mariner
Weakness
CWE-94: Improper Control of Generation of Code ('Code Injection')
Issued by
redhat
Published
27 Sep 2026 · September 2026
Last revised
13 Oct 2026Information published.
CVSS 3.1 base metricsRed raises the risk · green lowers it
Attack vector
LocalAV:L
Attack complexity
LowAC:L
Privileges required
NonePR:N
User interaction
RequiredUI:R
Scope
UnchangedS:U
Confidentiality
HighC:H
Integrity
HighI:H
Availability
HighA:H

Updates that fix it

0 KBs

No KB listed

No KB update is listed in the collected MSRC record. Check the MSRC advisory for product releases and other remedies.

Affected products

Open Source Software
1 affected product
  • azl3 emacs 29.4-6 on Azure Linux 3.0

What changed

  1. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed · Customer action: Required: apply the update → Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance · Public disclosure: No → Unknown: not stated by MSRC · Exploitation detected: Not reported by MSRC → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  2. Detection template: Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed · CISA KEV: Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained → Not listed in the collected catalog
  3. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained · CISA KEV: Not listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
Page history

Changes are dated when recorded; day views use the last saved version from that UTC day, and citations stay fixed.

Cite this version
Field-level log (19)

Up to 100 recent field edits are shown; older edits may be outside retention.

  1. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Public detection templateNo Nuclei template listed
  2. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC EPSSNot scored → No EPSS score collected
  3. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Customer actionRequired: apply the update → Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance
  4. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Publicly disclosedNo → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  5. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Exploitation detectedNot reported by MSRC → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  6. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Public exploit codeUnknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  7. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC CISA KEVUnknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained → Not listed in the collected catalog
  8. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeIncomplete → Current
  9. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: first-epssIncomplete → Current
  10. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevIncomplete → Current
  11. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
  12. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Public exploit codeNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained
  13. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC CISA KEVNot listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
  14. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  15. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  16. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevCurrent → Incomplete
  17. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete
  18. 18 Oct 2026 · 14:54:30 UTC Link: September 2026/security?release=2026-Sep#cves
  19. 14 Oct 2026 · 11:22:42 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current

Explore global source statements, affected packages and advisory history for CVE-2026-96442. The catalog has a separate collection scope from Microsoft release records.

Explicit identifiers and source references

Related operational evidence

Explicit CVE identifiers
ChangeIntel

An IT change radar: releases, security, known issues, retirements, documentation changes, and service status from public sources. Every item links to supporting evidence; dates and statuses can change after they are read.

Sources read 31 Oct 19:23 UTC · 272 of 272 readable · 270 fully read · documentation 469/469 current