Public mode

No access to your tenant or devices. Every item links to its source. What this means

Some sources, documents or advisories need attention: 275/275 feeds/APIs · 469/469 docs · 8/9 advisories · checked 10:10 UTC Customize Public modeDiscuss ChangeIntel on Discord

bpf: Keep refcount_acquire nullable for borrowed RCU kptrs

Assessment

Severity
Unrated
CVSS base score
Not published
Impact
Not stated
EPSS · 30-day forecast
No EPSS score collected
Public detection template
No Nuclei template is listed in the current collected catalog
Exploitation detected
Unknown: not stated by MSRC
Exploitability
Not assessed
Publicly disclosed
Unknown: not stated by MSRC
Customer action
Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance
Component
Mariner
Weakness
—
Issued by
Linux
Published
20 Oct 2026 · September 2026
Last revised
20 Oct 2026

Updates that fix it

0 KBs

No KB listed

No KB update is listed in the collected MSRC record. Check the MSRC advisory for product releases and other remedies.

What changed

  1. Detection template: Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  2. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained
  3. Detection template: Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  4. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained
  5. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed · Customer action: Required: apply the update → Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance · Public disclosure: No → Unknown: not stated by MSRC · Exploitation detected: Not reported by MSRC → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  6. Detection template: Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed · CISA KEV: Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained → Not listed in the collected catalog
  7. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained · CISA KEV: Not listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
Page history

Changes are dated when recorded; day views use the last saved version from that UTC day, and citations stay fixed.

Cite this version
Field-level log (33)

Up to 100 recent field edits are shown; older edits may be outside retention.

  1. 6 Nov 2026 · 17:32:22 UTC Public detection templateUnknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  2. 6 Nov 2026 · 17:32:22 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeIncomplete → Current
  3. 6 Nov 2026 · 17:32:22 UTC Source coverage: first-epssIncomplete → Current
  4. 6 Nov 2026 · 17:32:22 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
  5. 6 Nov 2026 · 16:31:02 UTC Public detection templateNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained
  6. 6 Nov 2026 · 16:31:02 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  7. 6 Nov 2026 · 16:31:02 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  8. 6 Nov 2026 · 16:31:02 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete
  9. 2 Nov 2026 · 17:30:39 UTC Public detection templateUnknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  10. 2 Nov 2026 · 17:30:39 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeIncomplete → Current
  11. 2 Nov 2026 · 17:30:39 UTC Source coverage: first-epssIncomplete → Current
  12. 2 Nov 2026 · 17:30:39 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
  13. 2 Nov 2026 · 16:27:39 UTC Public detection templateNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained
  14. 2 Nov 2026 · 16:27:39 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  15. 2 Nov 2026 · 16:27:39 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  16. 2 Nov 2026 · 16:27:39 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete
  17. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Public detection templateNo Nuclei template listed
  18. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC EPSSNot scored → No EPSS score collected
  19. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Customer actionRequired: apply the update → Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance
  20. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Publicly disclosedNo → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  21. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Exploitation detectedNot reported by MSRC → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  22. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Public exploit codeUnknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  23. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC CISA KEVUnknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained → Not listed in the collected catalog
  24. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeIncomplete → Current
  25. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: first-epssIncomplete → Current
  26. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevIncomplete → Current
  27. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
  28. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Public exploit codeNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained
  29. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC CISA KEVNot listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
  30. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  31. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  32. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevCurrent → Incomplete
  33. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete

Explore global source statements, affected packages and advisory history for CVE-2026-98038. The catalog has a separate collection scope from Microsoft release records.

Collected exploitation and prediction evidence

Risk source coverage

CISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.

No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.

cve-program · CVE-2026-98038

Published

bpf: Keep refcount_acquire nullable for borrowed RCU kptrs

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: bpf: Keep refcount_acquire nullable for borrowed RCU kptrs bpf_refcount_acquire() is fallible for a borrowed reference because the object may have reached a zero refcount. The verifier therefore keeps KF_RET_NULL on the return value unless the argument is an owning reference. An RCU-protected load of a local kptr is marked MEM_ALLOC, but it only receives NON_OWN_REF when the pointee contains a graph node. A refcounted object without a graph node consequently looks like an owning reference even though the loaded register has no acquired reference state. If the program drops the last real reference while remaining in the RCU critical section, refcount_inc_not_zero() returns NULL while the verifier treats the result as non-NULL. Only classify the argument as owning when it is backed by a verifier-tracked reference. This retains the non-NULL return for pointers from bpf_obj_new(), bpf_kptr_xchg(), or an earlier successful acquisition, while requiring a NULL check for borrowed RCU kptrs. [ kkd: Rewrote commit log ]

Source published
25 Sep 2026 10:23:51 UTC
Source modified
21 Oct 2026 12:54:09 UTC
Observed here
23 Oct 2026 15:48:27 UTC
Source terms
CVE Program Terms of Use

Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON

This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.

ChangeIntel

An IT change radar: releases, security, known issues, retirements, documentation changes, and service status from public sources. Every item links to supporting evidence; dates and statuses can change after they are read.

Sources read 8 Nov 10:10 UTC · 275 of 275 readable · 273 fully read · documentation 469/469 current