Public mode

No access to your tenant or devices. Every item links to its source. What this means

Some sources, documents or advisories need attention: 275/275 feeds/APIs · 469/469 docs · 8/9 advisories · checked 10:10 UTC Customize Public modeDiscuss ChangeIntel on Discord

drm/virtio: use the DMA API for resource backing on Xen

Assessment

Severity
Moderate
CVSS base score
5.6CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:N/A:N
Impact
Not stated
EPSS · 30-day forecast
No EPSS score collected
Public detection template
No Nuclei template is listed in the current collected catalog
Exploitation detected
Unknown: not stated by MSRC
Exploitability
Not assessed
Publicly disclosed
Unknown: not stated by MSRC
Customer action
Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance
Component
Mariner
Weakness
—
Issued by
Linux
Published
16 Oct 2026 · September 2026
Last revised
5 Nov 2026Information published.
CVSS 3.1 base metricsRed raises the risk · green lowers it
Attack vector
LocalAV:L
Attack complexity
HighAC:H
Privileges required
LowPR:L
User interaction
NoneUI:N
Scope
ChangedS:C
Confidentiality
HighC:H
Integrity
NoneI:N
Availability
NoneA:N

Updates that fix it

0 KBs

No KB listed

No KB update is listed in the collected MSRC record. Check the MSRC advisory for product releases and other remedies.

Affected products

Open Source Software
3 affected products
  • azl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0
  • azl3 kernel 6.6.159.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0
  • azl3 kernel 6.6.161.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0

What changed

  1. Detection template: Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  2. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained
  3. Affected products: azl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 kernel 6.6.159.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0 → azl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 kernel 6.6.159.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 kernel 6.6.161.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0
  4. Detection template: Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  5. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained
  6. Affected products: azl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0 → azl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 kernel 6.6.159.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0
  7. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed · Customer action: Required: apply the update → Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance · Public disclosure: No → Unknown: not stated by MSRC · Exploitation detected: Not reported by MSRC → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  8. Detection template: Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed · CISA KEV: Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained → Not listed in the collected catalog
  9. Detection template: No Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained · CISA KEV: Not listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
Page history

Changes are dated when recorded; day views use the last saved version from that UTC day, and citations stay fixed.

Cite this version
Field-level log (39)

Up to 100 recent field edits are shown; older edits may be outside retention.

  1. 6 Nov 2026 · 17:32:22 UTC Public detection templateUnknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  2. 6 Nov 2026 · 17:32:22 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeIncomplete → Current
  3. 6 Nov 2026 · 17:32:22 UTC Source coverage: first-epssIncomplete → Current
  4. 6 Nov 2026 · 17:32:22 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
  5. 6 Nov 2026 · 16:31:02 UTC Public detection templateNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained
  6. 6 Nov 2026 · 16:31:02 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  7. 6 Nov 2026 · 16:31:02 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  8. 6 Nov 2026 · 16:31:02 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete
  9. 6 Nov 2026 · 09:07:49 UTC Last revised1 Nov 2026 14:47 UTC → 5 Nov 2026 14:46 UTC
  10. 6 Nov 2026 · 09:07:49 UTC Affected productsazl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 kernel 6.6.159.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0 → azl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 kernel 6.6.159.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 kernel 6.6.161.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0
  11. 2 Nov 2026 · 17:30:39 UTC Public detection templateUnknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  12. 2 Nov 2026 · 17:30:39 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeIncomplete → Current
  13. 2 Nov 2026 · 17:30:39 UTC Source coverage: first-epssIncomplete → Current
  14. 2 Nov 2026 · 17:30:39 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
  15. 2 Nov 2026 · 16:27:39 UTC Public detection templateNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: detection-template evidence is incomplete or retained
  16. 2 Nov 2026 · 16:27:39 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  17. 2 Nov 2026 · 16:27:39 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  18. 2 Nov 2026 · 16:27:39 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete
  19. 2 Nov 2026 · 09:04:36 UTC Last revised21 Oct 2026 18:41 UTC → 1 Nov 2026 14:47 UTC
  20. 2 Nov 2026 · 09:04:36 UTC Affected productsazl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0 → azl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0, azl3 kernel 6.6.159.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0
  21. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Public detection templateNo Nuclei template listed
  22. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC EPSSNot scored → No EPSS score collected
  23. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Customer actionRequired: apply the update → Required: follow the MSRC remediation guidance
  24. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Publicly disclosedNo → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  25. 29 Oct 2026 · 20:19:26 UTC Exploitation detectedNot reported by MSRC → Unknown: not stated by MSRC
  26. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Public exploit codeUnknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained → No Nuclei template listed
  27. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC CISA KEVUnknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained → Not listed in the collected catalog
  28. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeIncomplete → Current
  29. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: first-epssIncomplete → Current
  30. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevIncomplete → Current
  31. 23 Oct 2026 · 09:33:49 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
  32. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Public exploit codeNo Nuclei template listed → Unknown: exploit-code evidence is incomplete or retained
  33. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC CISA KEVNot listed in the collected catalog → Unknown: catalog evidence is incomplete or retained
  34. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: public-exploit-codeCurrent → Incomplete
  35. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: first-epssCurrent → Incomplete
  36. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: cisa-kevCurrent → Incomplete
  37. 23 Oct 2026 · 08:31:50 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfCurrent → Incomplete
  38. 21 Oct 2026 · 20:45:25 UTC Last revised16 Oct 2026 01:07 UTC → 21 Oct 2026 18:41 UTC
  39. 18 Oct 2026 · 14:54:30 UTC Link: September 2026/security?release=2026-Sep#cves

Explore global source statements, affected packages and advisory history for CVE-2026-98156. The catalog has a separate collection scope from Microsoft release records.

Collected exploitation and prediction evidence

Risk source coverage

CISA KEV is observed exploitation evidence. FIRST EPSS is a dated prediction of exploitation in the next 30 days. Missing scores are unknown. This collector requests predictions only for explicit CVE aliases in the public NuGet archive; Microsoft release views retain their existing prediction scope.

No collected risk observation for these identifiers. This does not establish absence of exploitation or a zero probability.

cve-program · CVE-2026-98156

Published

drm/virtio: use the DMA API for resource backing on Xen

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: drm/virtio: use the DMA API for resource backing on Xen On a Xen PV domain page addresses bear no relation to the real machine addresses the host would have to use to reach it. virtio_ring.c handles this correctly, vring_use_map_api() returns true for any xen_domain() regardless of VIRTIO_F_ACCESS_PLATFORM. virtio-gpu makes the same decision independently, but its copy looks only at the feature bit: bool use_dma_api = !virtio_has_dma_quirk(vgdev->vdev); QEMU does not set iommu_platform on virtio-vga by default, so VIRTIO_F_ACCESS_PLATFORM is not negotiated, use_dma_api is false, and virtio_gpu_object_shmem_init() describes the framebuffer's backing pages to the host with sg_phys(). Those are guest-physical addresses. In a PV domain they resolve, on the host side, to pages belonging to some other domain, so the host scans out unrelated memory. Move the decision into virtio_gpu_use_dma_api() and give it the xen_domain() check, like vring_use_map_api() has. This additionally enables the dma_sync_sgtable_for_device() calls in virtgpu_vq.c, which are required for correctness whenever swiotlb is in play. Reproduced with a Xen 4.21 PV dom0 nested inside QEMU 8.2 with virtio-vga, on both a distro 6.8 kernel and 6.18 LTS. A PVH dom0 works fine and doesn't need this fix because it is identity-mapped, only PV dom0s are affected.

Source published
25 Sep 2026 10:36:26 UTC
Source modified
21 Oct 2026 12:54:43 UTC
Observed here
23 Oct 2026 15:48:27 UTC
Source terms
CVE Program Terms of Use

Original source record · Cite this exact observation · Complete original publisher JSON

This view projects the publisher's source fields for reading; the original JSON retains additional fields and CVE enrichment containers. Attribution: cve-program · CVE Program Terms of Use. Source text is retained; field grouping and change labels are provided by ChangeIntel.

CVSS 3.1 · 7.8 CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H

ChangeIntel

An IT change radar: releases, security, known issues, retirements, documentation changes, and service status from public sources. Every item links to supporting evidence; dates and statuses can change after they are read.

Sources read 8 Nov 10:10 UTC · 275 of 275 readable · 273 fully read · documentation 469/469 current