Public mode

No access to your tenant or devices. Every item links to its source. What this means

Some sources, documents or advisories need attention: 275/275 feeds/APIs · 465/469 docs · 8/9 advisories · checked 10:10 UTC Customize Public modeDiscuss ChangeIntel on Discord

Recorded 21 Oct 2026 at 20:45 UTC. This is what ChangeIntel recorded, including the title, summary, facts and links. It is not a statement of the source's current position. See the latest record.

The historical field “Public exploit code” recorded Nuclei detection-template membership. It did not establish exploit availability. The original recorded fields remain below.

The historical “Publicly disclosed: No” field could represent a missing MSRC assessment. It does not establish that the vulnerability was undisclosed. The original recorded fields remain below.

smb: client: fix reparse buffer bounds in cifs_query_reparse_point()

smb: client: fix reparse buffer bounds in cifs_query_reparse_point()

What it said

CVE
CVE-2026-98168
Severity
Critical
CVSS base score
9.8
CVSS vector
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:U
Impact
Not stated
Exploitation detected
Not reported by MSRC
Publicly disclosed
No
Exploitability
Not assessed
Component
Mariner
Weakness
Not stated
Issued by
Linux
Customer action
Required: apply the update
Affected products
azl3 kernel 6.6.157.1-1 on Azure Linux 3.0
Updates that fix it
No KB listed
CISA KEV
Not listed in the collected catalog
EPSS
Not scored
Public exploit code
No Nuclei template listed
Published
7 Oct 2026 01:10 UTC
Last revised
21 Oct 2026 18:41 UTC
Revision note
Information published.

Source evidence when recorded

Microsoft security releases
Complete at observationRead 21 Oct 2026 at 20:45 UTC
CISA KEV
Complete at observationRead 21 Oct 2026 at 20:45 UTC
FIRST EPSS
Complete at observationRead 21 Oct 2026 at 20:45 UTC
Public detection templates (Nuclei)
Complete at observationRead 21 Oct 2026 at 20:45 UTC

Coverage describes the sources at this observation. A complete read then does not establish their current position.

Page history

Changes are dated when recorded; day views use the last saved version from that UTC day, and citations stay fixed.

Cite this version
Field-level log (3)

Up to 100 recent field edits are shown; older edits may be outside retention.

  1. 21 Oct 2026 · 20:45:25 UTC Last revised7 Oct 2026 01:10 UTC → 21 Oct 2026 18:41 UTC
  2. 18 Oct 2026 · 14:54:30 UTC Link: October 2026/security?release=2026-Oct#cves
  3. 14 Oct 2026 · 11:22:42 UTC Source coverage: msrc-cvrfIncomplete → Current
ChangeIntel

An IT change radar: releases, security, known issues, retirements, documentation changes, and service status from public sources. Every item links to supporting evidence; dates and statuses can change after they are read.

Sources read 8 Nov 10:10 UTC · 275 of 275 readable · 273 fully read · documentation 465/469 current